Ghisallo’s Museum

Load of memories, this hill, which enjoys beautiful views, is one of the best known places for cyclists of all ages and all categories, competitive or not. In fact, it is at the top of this climb that some of the most famous competitions in cycling history have been decided or concluded: from the Giro d’Italia to the Giro di Lombardia, from the Coppa Agostoni to the “Giornata della Bicicletta”.

For this reason Ghisallo is visited every year by thousands of athletes who climb up here to visit the Sanctuary, which dates back to the seventeenth century, where there is a painting of the Blessed Virgin Mary, called the Madonna del Ghisallo, proclaimed Patroness of the Cyclists since 1949, with an official papal letter of Pius XII, which attributed this role to it. The year before, Pope Pacelli had blessed and lit up in Rome the great bronze torch, which was placed inside the Sanctuary.

On May 31, 2006, Pope Benedict XVI gave the Vatican the blessing of the last stone by solemnizing the final act of building the museum. The stone, which can be seen in the central hall of the museum structure, bears the message “Omnia Vincit Amor” (love wins everything).

This museum is dedicated to men and women who used and used cycling in everyday life and in sports competitions; but also committed to making known those around the world of the two wheels, and the competitive one in particular, working: athletes, producers of the vehicle, organizers, company executives, journalists and other figures perhaps less known but equally important.
There would not be, in fact, a more significant place than this, in a region where there are almost 700 cycling societies, more than 12,000 members and about 1200 races during the year.
Therefore an institution that wants to collaborate with the various museums realized in Italy and in the world, going beyond the collections centered on the name of an athlete and on his enterprises, however important.
The Museo del Ciclismo-Madonna del Ghisallo, on the other hand, intends to collect, conserve and enhance, starting from spontaneous donations made to the Shrine by enthusiasts, sporting associations and champions of various eras, the events of a technical means, a sport and its actors, of the main events that have made the history of cycling, as well as of a society that with the bicycle has moved on to modernity.


From March (first Saturday) until November (fist Sunday)

open daily from 9:30 am to 5:30 pm.



Full price: Euro 6,00

Reduced price (youth  from 9 to 17 years old): Euro 3,00

Free: kids within 8 (age in completed years)
Disabled and one companion

For other reductions visit the official website:


By public transport

Catch a bus to Magreglio (bus C36) 

By private taxi

Book a transfer or include the Museo del Ghisallo visit in a Lake Como guided tour

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top